Board of Directors

Professor Dr. Peter M. Herzig
Director 
GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Wischhofstraße 1-3, Building No. 4, Room 111 
D-24148 Kiel, Germany 
Phone: +49-431-600-2800
pherzig(at)geomar.de  

Personal Assistant of the Director
Dr. Jan Helmke
Phone: +49-431-600-2818
jhelmke(at)geomar.de 

Office of the Director:

Mrs. Dürken Quaas  
Phone: +49-431-600-2801
dquaas(at)geomar.de 

Mrs. Franziska-Maria Kristandt
Phone: +49-431-600-2820
fkristandt(at)geomar.de 

Fax: +49-431-600-2805  


Michael Wagner
Administrative Director
GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel


Wischhofstraße 1-3, Building No. 4, Room 111 
D-24148 Kiel, Germany 
mwagner(at)geomar.de    

Office of the Administrative Director: 
Daniela Krellenberg
dkrellenberg(at)geomar.de 
Phone: +49-431-600-2600 / -2601
Fax: +49-431-600-2605

 

Heads of Research Divisions

Research Division 1: Ocean Circulation and Climate Dynamics:
Prof. Dr. Mojib Latif,  Phone: +49-431 600-4050, mlatif(at)geomar.de 
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Martin Frank, Phone: +49-431 600-2218, mfrank(at)geomar.de 

cdevey(at)geomar.de

Research Division 2: Marine Biogeochemistry: 
Prof. Dr. Anja Engel, Phone: +49-431 600-1510, aengel(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Anton Eisenhauer, Phone: +49-431 600-2282, aeisenhauer(at)geomar.de 

Research Division 3: Marine Ecology: 
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Reusch, Phone: +49-431 600-4550, treusch(at)geomar.de
Deputy:Prof. Dr. Ulrich Sommer, Phone: +49-431 600-4400, usommer(at)geomar.de

usommer(at)geomar.de

Research Division 4: Dynamics of the Ocean Floor:
Prof. Dr. Heidrun Kopp, Phone: +49-431 600-2334, hkopp(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Colin Devey, Phone: +49-431 600-2257, cdevey@geomar.de

cdevey(at)geomar.de

 

Directorate

Head of Directorate

Mrs. Irene Strebl
Phone: +49-431-600-2815, istrebl(at)geomar.de

Assistance

Mrs. Franziska-Maria Kristandt
Phone +49-431-600-2820, fkristandt(at)geomar.de  

Mrs. Nidda Schweda
Phone: +49-431-600-2825, nschweda(at)geomar.de

Team assistance for the directorate (Science coordination, Legal Affairs and Communication & Media)

Mrs. Jeanette Jankwitz
Phone +49-431 600-2809 , jjankwitz(at)geomar.de

Science Coordination:

Dr. Nicole Schmidt
Phone: +49-431-600-2803, nschmidt(at)geomar.de
Head, Helmholtz issues

Dr. Alexandra Drossou-Berendes
Phone: +49-431 600-2808, adrossou-berendes(at)geomar.de
Research funding (EU)

Dr. Jörg Süling
Phone: +49-431 600-2810, jsueling(at)geomar.de

Legal Affairs and Technology Transfer
Mrs. Ina Schultheiß
Phone: +49-431 600 2806, ischultheiss(at)geomar.de

Mrs. Angelika Eisenträger
Phone +49-431 600 2826, aeisentraeger(at)geomar.de 

Communication & Media

Dr. Andreas Villwock
Phone: +49-431-600-2802, avillwock(at)geomar.de
Head

Dr. Gerd Hoffmann-Wieck
Phone: +49-431-600-2555, ghoffmann-wieck(at)geomar.de
General requests, Exhibitions, Visits, Archive, Guided Tours, Excellence Cluster "The Future Ocean" 
Tu-Fr

Maike Nicolai
Phone: +49-431-600-2807, mnicolai(at)geomar.de
General requests, Press contact, TV/Video/Photo

Dr. Joachim Dengg
Phone: +49-600-4006, jdengg(at)geomar.de
School projects

Jan Steffen
Phone: +49-431-600-2811, jsteffen(at)geomar.de 
General requests, Press contact, Press releases, Internet

Christoph Kersten
Phone: +49-431 600-2814, ckersten(at)geomar.de
Graphics & Design

General requests please send to: presse(at)geomar.de