Board of Directors

Professor Dr. Peter M. Herzig
GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Wischhofstraße 1-3, Building No. 4, Room 111 
D-24148 Kiel, Germany 
Phone: +49-431-600-2800

Personal Assistant to the Director
Dr. Jan Helmke
Phone: +49-431-600-2818

Director's Office:
Eliane Lehmann
Phone: +49-431-600-2801

Antonia Rißmann
Tel. +49-431-600-2820

Fax: +49-431-600-2805  

Frank Spiekermann

Frank Spiekermann
Administrative Director
GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Wischhofstraße 1-3, Building No. 4, Room 111 
24148 Kiel, Germany
Phone: +49 431 600-2600 / -2601


Administrative Director's Office: 
N.N., acting: Ute Ehlers
Phone: +49-431-600-2600 / -2601
Fax: +49-431-600-2605

Heads of Research Divisions

Research Division 1: Ocean Circulation and Climate Dynamics:
Prof. Dr. Katja Matthes
, Phone: +49-431 600-4054, kmatthes(at)
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Martin Frank, Phone: +49-431 600-2218, mfrank(at) 

Research Division 2: Marine Biogeochemistry:
Prof. Dr. Klaus Wallmann, Phone: +49-431 600-2287, kwallmann(at)
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Arne Körtzinger, Phone: +49-431 600-4200, akoertzinger(at)

Research Division 3: Marine Ecology:
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Reusch, Phone: +49-431 600-4550, treusch(at)
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Ute Hentschel Humeida, Phone: +49-431 600-4480, uhentschel(at)

Research Division 4: Dynamics of the Ocean Floor:
Prof. Dr. Colin Devey, Phone: +49-431 600-2257, cdevey(at)
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Christian Berndt, Phone: +49-431 600-2273, cberndt(at)


Senior Administrative Officer for Finance and HR

Ulrike Köcher
Tel. 0431-600-2620 ukoecher(at)

Senior Administrative Officer for Technical Services and Procurement

Silke Simon
Phone: +49-431-600-2610, sisimon(at)


Nidda Schweda
Phone: +49-431-600-2611, nschweda(at)


General Affairs and Policy matters

Phone: +49-431-600-2815


Jeanette Jankwitz
Phone: +49-431-600-2825, jjankwitz(at)

Legal Affairs
Ina Schultheiß
Phone: +49-431 600 2806, ischultheiss(at)

Kirsten Hoppe
Phone +49-431 600 2826, khoppe(at)

Bettina Kleining
Phone +49-431 600 2829, bkleining(at) 

Technology Transfer and International Affairs
Dr. Warner Brückmann
Phone: +49-431 600 2819, wbrueckmann(at) 


Prevention of Corruption and Data Protection
Stefan Simon
Phone +49-431 600 2549, ssimon(at)

Staff Department Health, Safety and Environment (HSE)

  • Safety Engineer and Fire Protection Officer
    Sören Claußen
    Phone +49-431 600 2528, sclaussen(at) 
  • Safety Officer, Dangerous Goods Safety Advisor and Waste Inspector
    Dietmar Schmitz
    Phone +49-600 2750, dschmitz(at)

Rüdiger Kunze
Phone: +49-431 600 2297, rkunze(at) 

Science Coordination


Research Funding

Dr. Alexandra Drossou-Berendes
Phone: +49-431 600-2808, adrossou-berendes(at)
Research funding EU

Dr. Sonja Reich
Phone: +49-431-600-2803, sreich(at) 
DFG & Helmholtz Programmes

Communication and Media

Dr. Andreas Villwock
Phone: +49-431-600-2802, avillwock(at)

Jan Steffen
Phone: +49-431-600-2811, jsteffen(at) 
General requests, Press contact, Press releases, Internet & Social Media

Jens Klimmeck
Phone: +49-431 600-1815, jklimmeck(at) 

Dr. Gerd Hoffmann-Wieck
Phone: +49-431-600-2555, ghoffmann-wieck(at) 
General requests, Exhibitions, Visits, Archive, Guided Tours, Excellence Cluster "The Future Ocean"

Dr. Joachim Dengg
Phone: +49-600-4006, jdengg(at)
School projects

Christoph Kersten
Phone: +49-431 600-2814, ckersten(at)
Graphics & Design

General requests please send to: presse(at)

Event Management & Team assistance to Communication & Media
Christiane Loorz
Phone +49-431 600-2809, cloorz(at)