Map of the eastern, tropical North Atlantic with the route of the meteor (Fig. 2) from 13 to 15 September 2015 (black line). The sea surface temperatures of 14 September 2015 are shown in colour, the arrows indicate the direction and strength of the wind at that time. The turbulence measurements with the microstructure probe (image 3) are marked by the light blue diamonds and the position of the PIRATA buoy (image 4) is marked by the light blue star.

Map of the eastern, tropical North Atlantic with the route of the Meteor (Fig. 2) from 13 to 15 September 2015 (black line). The sea surface temperatures of 14 September 2015 are shown in colour, the arrows indicate the direction and strength of the wind at that time. The turbulence measurements with the microstructure probe (image 3) are marked by the light blue diamonds and the position of the PIRATA buoy (image 4) is marked by the light blue star.

The German research vessel Meteor in the tropical Atlantic.Photo: Kosmas Hench.

The German research vessel Meteor in the tropical Atlantic.Photo: Kosmas Hench.

Microstructure probe at the stern of the Meteor when launching with the instrument's own winch. The fast fading of the orange Kevlar cable allows the turbulence measurements to be carried out almost in free fall of the probe through the water. Photo: Marcus Dengler.

Microstructure probe at the stern of the Meteor when launching with the instrument's own winch. The fast fading of the orange Kevlar cable allows the turbulence measurements to be carried out almost in free fall of the probe through the water. Photo: Marcus Dengler.

Surface element of the PIRATA buoy at 11.5°N, 23°W. The PIRATA buoys form the core elements of the observation system in the tropical Atlantic and record atmospheric parameters with the surface elements and oceanic parameters with the instruments anchored under water. They thus provide important data for a better understanding of the exchange processes between ocean and atmosphere. Photo: Michael Schneider.

Surface element of the PIRATA buoy at 11.5°N, 23°W. The PIRATA buoys form the core elements of the observation system in the tropical Atlantic and record atmospheric parameters with the surface elements and oceanic parameters with the instruments anchored under water. They thus provide important data for a better understanding of the exchange processes between ocean and atmosphere. Photo: Michael Schneider.

Short wind turns with strong cooling effect

Why the ocean in the tropics is often colder than expected

31 July 2020/Kiel. Why is the sea surface temperature of the northern tropics in the summer months often lower than expected? This question was investigated by a German-American team of scientists led by the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel. Their results, which have now been published in the international journal Nature Communications, show that a short-term, wind-driven wave phenomenon provides very efficient vertical mixing and cooling of the upper water layer.

Sea surface temperatures in the tropics have a major influence on the climate in the tropics and the adjacent continents. For example, they determine the position of the Intertropical Convergence Zone and the beginning and strength of the West African monsoon. Therefore, it is important to understand the variability of sea surface temperatures for climate predictions. Until now, the seasonal cycle of sea surface temperature in the tropical North Atlantic could not be sufficiently explained. "More precisely, the sea surface is colder than predicted by the combination of previous direct observations of solar radiation, currents and mixing, especially in the summer months from July to September", explains Dr. Rebecca Hummels from the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel and first author of a study now published in Nature Communications.

Ship-based observations with the German research vessel METEOR in September 2015 provided first measurements of a strong turbulent mixing event below the sea surface, where mixing was up to a factor of 100 higher than previously observed at this location. "When we noticed the greatly enhanced turbulence in the water column during data processing, we at first suspected a malfunction of our sensors," says Dr. Marcus Dengler, co-author of the study. "But when we also noticed strong currents at the ocean surface, we became curious". Precisely such events can explain the lower temperatures at the ocean surface.

"We were able to isolate the process behind this strong mixing event, which lasted only for a few days," explains Dr. Hummels. "It is a so-called inertial wave, which is a very short but intense flow event," Hummels continues. Inertial waves are horizontal wave phenomena in which the current at the surface rotates clockwise with time, whereas the movement rapidly decays with increasing depth. The different velocities at the surface and in the layer below cause instabilities and ultimately mixing between the warm water in the surface layer and the colder water below. Such inertial waves can be caused by brief variations in the near-surface winds. Up to now, generally only weak currents have been observed in this region and the rather steady trade winds at this time of year did not suggest particularly strong mixing events. However, wind variations are crucial to trigger these waves in the upper ocean. The winds do not have to be particularly strong, but ideally should rotate the same way the ocean currents do. Since such wind fluctuations are relatively rare and only last a few days, it has not yet been possible to measure such a strong wave phenomenon with the associated strong mixing in this region.

After the discovery of this event during the METEOR cruise in September 2015, the Kiel scientists wanted to know more about the frequency and the actual impact of such events. "Through model-based data analysis, we were able to give a context to the in-situ observations", explains co-author Dr. Willi Rath from the Research Unit Ocean Dynamics at GEOMAR. "Together, we have scanned 20 years of global wind observations looking for similar events triggered by wind fluctuations and described their occurrence in the region and during the course of the year", Dr. Rath adds. This has supported the hypothesis that the temporal and spatial distribution of such events can indeed explain the gap in the heat balance of the upper ocean.

The strong turbulent mixing caused by the inertial waves at the base of the surface layer is also crucial for biology: For example, the cold water that is mixed into the surface layer during such an event also brings nutrients from deeper layers into the upper ocean penetrated by sunlight. "This also explains the hitherto largely unexplained occurrence of chlorophyll blooms in this region, which could now also be attributed to the seasonally increased occurrence of these inertial waves," explains Dr. Florian Schütte, also co-author of the study.

The ship measurements in the tropical Atlantic were carried out in close cooperation with the international PIRATA program. For more than 20 years, the PIRATA surface buoys have been providing valuable data for studies of ocean-atmosphere interaction, which were also used for this study. "Indeed, the intensive mixing measurements resulted from a failure in the hydraulic system of the METEOR, which made other measurements impossible at that time", says Prof. Dr. Peter Brandt, chief scientist of the expedition. Despite buoys and series of ship expeditions to this region, new phenomena are still being discovered - sometimes by chance - which decisively advance our understanding of the tropical climate.

Reference:

Hummels, R., M. Dengler, W. Rath, G. R. Foltz, F. Schütte, T. Fischerand P. Brandt, 2020, Surface cooling caused by rare but intense near-inertial wave induced mixing in the tropical Atlantic. Nature Communications, doi: 10.1038/s41467-020-17601-x

Contact:

Dr. Andreas Villwock (GEOMAR, Communication and Media), Phone: +49 431 600-2802, presse(at)geomar.de

 

Map of the eastern, tropical North Atlantic with the route of the meteor (Fig. 2) from 13 to 15 September 2015 (black line). The sea surface temperatures of 14 September 2015 are shown in colour, the arrows indicate the direction and strength of the wind at that time. The turbulence measurements with the microstructure probe (image 3) are marked by the light blue diamonds and the position of the PIRATA buoy (image 4) is marked by the light blue star.

Map of the eastern, tropical North Atlantic with the route of the Meteor (Fig. 2) from 13 to 15 September 2015 (black line). The sea surface temperatures of 14 September 2015 are shown in colour, the arrows indicate the direction and strength of the wind at that time. The turbulence measurements with the microstructure probe (image 3) are marked by the light blue diamonds and the position of the PIRATA buoy (image 4) is marked by the light blue star.

The German research vessel Meteor in the tropical Atlantic.Photo: Kosmas Hench.

The German research vessel Meteor in the tropical Atlantic.Photo: Kosmas Hench.

Microstructure probe at the stern of the Meteor when launching with the instrument's own winch. The fast fading of the orange Kevlar cable allows the turbulence measurements to be carried out almost in free fall of the probe through the water. Photo: Marcus Dengler.

Microstructure probe at the stern of the Meteor when launching with the instrument's own winch. The fast fading of the orange Kevlar cable allows the turbulence measurements to be carried out almost in free fall of the probe through the water. Photo: Marcus Dengler.

Surface element of the PIRATA buoy at 11.5°N, 23°W. The PIRATA buoys form the core elements of the observation system in the tropical Atlantic and record atmospheric parameters with the surface elements and oceanic parameters with the instruments anchored under water. They thus provide important data for a better understanding of the exchange processes between ocean and atmosphere. Photo: Michael Schneider.

Surface element of the PIRATA buoy at 11.5°N, 23°W. The PIRATA buoys form the core elements of the observation system in the tropical Atlantic and record atmospheric parameters with the surface elements and oceanic parameters with the instruments anchored under water. They thus provide important data for a better understanding of the exchange processes between ocean and atmosphere. Photo: Michael Schneider.

  • GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
    Wischhofstr. 1-3
    24148 Kiel
    GERMANY
    Phone: +49 431 600-2809
    Fax: +49 431 600-132809
    e-mail: presse(at)geomar.de

  • Dr. Andreas Villwock
    Phone: +49 431 600-2802
    e-mail: avillwock(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    Print, web, visitors

  • Jan Steffen
    Phone: +49 431 600-2811
    e-mail: jsteffen(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    Press releases, press contacts, photo, web, social media

  • Dr. Joachim Dengg
    Phone: +49 431 600-4006
    e-mail: jdengg(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    School cooperations & projects, practicals for pupils

  • Christoph Kersten
    Phone: +49 0431 600-2814
    e-mail: ckersten(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    Graphics & Design, Development and production of print products for GEOMAR

  • Christiane Loorz
    Tel.: +49 431 600-2809
    e-mail: cloorz(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    Event Management, Team assistance

Karte des östlichen, tropischen Nordatlantiks mit der Fahrtroute der Meteor (Bild 2) vom 13. -15. September 2015 (schwarze Linie). In Farbe sind die Meeresoberflächentemperaturen vom 14. September 2015 dargestellt, die Pfeile geben die Richtung und Stärke des Windes zu diesem Zeitpunkt an. Die Turbulenzmessungen mit der Mikrostruktursonde (Bild 3) sind durch die hellblauen Rauten gekennzeichnet und die Position der PIRATA Boje (Bild 4) durch den hellblauen Stern markiert.

Karte des östlichen, tropischen Nordatlantiks mit der Fahrtroute der Meteor vom 13. -15. September 2015 (schwarze Linie). In Farbe sind die Meeresoberflächentemperaturen vom 14. September 2015 dargestellt, die Pfeile geben die Richtung und Stärke des Windes zu diesem Zeitpunkt an. Die Turbulenzmessungen mit der Mikrostruktursonde sind durch die hellblauen Rauten gekennzeichnet und die Position der PIRATA Boje durch den hellblauen Stern markiert. Grafik: GEOMAR

Das deutsche Forschungsschiff Meteor im tropischen Atlantik. Foto: Kosmas Hench

Das deutsche Forschungsschiff Meteor im tropischen Atlantik. Foto: Kosmas Hench

Foto der Mikrostruktursonde am Heck der Meteor beim Aussetzen mit der instrumenteneigenen Winde. Durch das schnelle Fieren des orangefarbenen Kevlarkabels können die Turbulenzmessungen nahezu im freien Fall der Sonde durchs Wasser durchgeführt werden. Foto: Marcus Dengler.

Foto der Mikrostruktursonde am Heck der Meteor beim Aussetzen mit der instrumenteneigenen Winde. Durch das schnelle Fieren des orangefarbenen Kevlarkabels können die Turbulenzmessungen nahezu im freien Fall der Sonde durchs Wasser durchgeführt werden. Foto: Marcus Dengler.

Oberflächenelement der PIRATA Boje bei 11.5°N, 23°W. Die PIRATA Bojen bilden die Kernelemente des Beobachtungssystems im tropischen Atlantik und zeichnen mit den Oberflächenelementen atmosphärische Parameter sowie mit den unter Wasser verankerten Instrumenten ozeanische Parameter auf. Damit liefern sie wichtige Daten, um die Austauschprozesse zwischen Ozean und Atmosphäre besser zu verstehen

Oberflächenelement der PIRATA Boje bei 11.5°N, 23°W. Die PIRATA Bojen bilden die Kernelemente des Beobachtungssystems im tropischen Atlantik und zeichnen mit den Oberflächenelementen atmosphärische Parameter sowie mit den unter Wasser verankerten Instrumenten ozeanische Parameter auf. Damit liefern sie wichtige Daten, um die Austauschprozesse zwischen Ozean und Atmosphäre besser zu verstehen. Foto: Michael Schneider.

Kurze Winddreher mit stark kühlender Wirkung

Warum das Meer in den Tropen oft kälter ist als erwartet

31.07.2020/Kiel. Warum ist die Meeresoberflächentemperatur in den Sommermonaten der nördlichen Tropen häufig niedriger als erwartet? Dieser Frage ging ein deutsch-amerikanisches Wissenschaftlerteam unter der Leitung des GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrums für Ozeanforschung Kiel nach. Ihre Ergebnisse, die jetzt in der internationalen Fachzeitschrift Nature Communications veröffentlicht wurden, zeigen, dass ein kurzzeitiges, windgetriebenes Wellenphänomen für eine sehr effiziente vertikale Vermischung und Abkühlung der oberen Wasserschicht sorgt.

Die Meeresoberflächentemperaturen in den Tropen haben einen großen Einfluss auf das Klima in den Tropen und der angrenzenden Kontinente. Zum Beispiel entscheiden sie über die Position der Intertropischen Konvergenzzone und den Beginn und die Stärke des Westafrikanischen Monsuns. Deshalb ist es auch im Hinblick auf Klimavorhersagen wichtig, die Variabilität der Meeresoberflächentemperaturen zu verstehen. Bisher konnte der saisonale Verlauf der Meeresoberflächentemperatur im tropischen Nordatlantik nicht hinreichend erklärt werden. „Genauer gesagt ist die Meeresoberfläche vor allem in den Sommermonaten von Juli bis September kälter als durch die bisherigen direkten Beobachtungen von Sonneneinstrahlung, Strömungen und Vermischung erklärt werden konnte“, erläutert Dr. Rebecca Hummels vom GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel und Erstautorin einer Studie, die jetzt in Nature Communications erschienen ist.

Schiffsbasierte Beobachtungen mit dem deutschen Forschungsschiff METEOR im September 2015 lieferten erste Daten von starken turbulenten Vermischungsereignissen unterhalb der Meeresoberfläche, bei denen die Vermischung um bis zu einem Faktor 100 höher war als bisher bekannt. „Als wir bei der Datenauswertung die stark erhöhte Turbulenz in der Wassersäule feststellten, vermuteten wir zuerst eine Fehlfunktion unserer Sensoren“, erzählt Dr. Marcus Dengler, Co-Autor der Studie. „Als wir dann aber auch starke Strömungen an der Ozeanoberfläche bemerkten, wurden wir neugierig“. Genau solche Ereignisse können die niedrigeren Temperaturen an der Meeresoberfläche erklären.
„Wir konnten den Prozess, der hinter diesem starken wenige Tage andauernden Vermischungsereignis steckt, isolieren“, erklärt Dr. Hummels. „Es handelt sich um eine sogenannte Trägheitswelle, die ein sehr kurzes aber intensives Strömungsereignis darstellt“, so Hummels weiter. Trägheitswellen sind horizontale Wellenphänomene, bei denen sich die Strömung an der Oberfläche im zeitlichen Verlauf im Uhrzeigersinn dreht, während die Bewegung mit zunehmender Tiefe rasch abklingt. Durch die unterschiedlichen Geschwindigkeiten an der Oberfläche und der darunter liegenden Schicht, kommt es zu Instabilitäten und letztendlich zur Vermischung zwischen dem warmen Wasser in der Deckschicht und dem darunter liegenden kälteren Wasser. Solche Trägheitswellen können durch kurzzeitige Variationen der oberflächennahen Winde ausgelöst werden. Bisher wurden in dieser Region generell nur schwache Strömungen gemessen und der eher gleichmäßige Passatwind zu dieser Jahreszeit ließ keine besonders starken Vermischungsereignisse vermuten. Tatsächlich sind aber Schwankungen der Windrichtung entscheidend, um diese Wellen im oberen Ozean anzuregen. Die Winde müssen dabei gar nicht besonders stark sein, aber idealerweise mit der Ozeanströmung drehen. Da solche Windschwankungen eher selten sind und nur wenige Tage andauern, konnte ein solch starkes Wellenphänomen mit dem damit zusammenhängenden starken Vermischungsereignis in dieser Region bisher noch nicht vermessen werden.

Nach der Entdeckung dieses Ereignisses während der METEOR Fahrt im September 2015 wollten die Kieler Wissenschaftler mehr über die Häufigkeit und den tatsächlichen Einfluss solcher Ereignisse wissen. „Durch eine Modell-gestützte Datenanalyse konnten wir den in-situ Beobachtungen einen Kontext geben“, erläutert Co-Autor Dr. Willi Rath aus der Abteilung Ozeandynamik. „Gemeinsam haben wir in 20 Jahren globaler Windbeobachtungen nach ähnlichen durch nur leichte Windschwankungen ausgelösten Ereignissen gesucht und deren Auftreten in der Region und im Jahresgang beschrieben“, ergänzt Dr. Rath weiter. Dadurch konnte die Vermutung untermauert werden, dass die zeitliche und räumliche Verteilung solcher Ereignisse tatsächlich die bisher bestehende Lücke im Wärmehaushalt des oberen Ozeans erklären kann.

Die starke turbulente Vermischung, die durch die Trägheitswellen an der Unterkante der Deckschicht entsteht, ist auch für die Biologie entscheidend: So werden mit dem kalten Wasser, das während eines solchen Ereignisses in die Deckschicht eingemischt wird, auch Nährstoffe aus tieferen Schichten in die Reichweite von Sonnenlicht gebracht. „Dies erklärt auch das bisher weitgehend unerklärte Auftreten von Chlorophyllblüten in dieser Region, die nun ebenfalls auf das jahreszeitlich gehäufte Auftreten dieser Trägheitswellen zurückgeführt werden konnten“, erklärt Dr. Florian Schütte, ebenfalls Co-Autor der Studie.

Die Schiffsmessungen im tropischen Atlantik wurden in enger Kooperation mit dem internationalen PIRATA-Programm durchgeführt. Seit mehr als 20 Jahren liefern die PIRATA Oberflächenbojen wertvolle Daten zur Untersuchung der Ozean-Atmosphären-Wechselwirkung, die auch zu dieser Studie beigetragen haben. „Tatsächlich haben sich die intensiven Vermischungsmessungen durch einen Fehler des Hydrauliksystems der METEOR ergeben, der andere Messungen zu diesem Zeitpunkt unmöglich machte“, sagt Prof. Dr. Peter Brandt, Leiter der Expedition. Trotz Bojen und einer ganzen Reihe von Schiffsexpeditionen in dieses Meeresgebiet, werden so immer noch - manchmal auch zufällig - neue Phänomene entdeckt, die unser Verständnis des tropischen Klimas entscheidend voranbringen können.

Originalarbeit:

Hummels, R., M. Dengler, W. Rath, G. R. Foltz, F. Schütte, T. Fischerand P. Brandt, 2020, Surface cooling caused by rare but intense near-inertial wave induced mixing in the tropical Atlantic. Nature Communications, doi: 10.1038/s41467-020-17601-x

Kontakt:

Dr. Andreas Villwock (GEOMAR, Kommunikation & Medien), Tel.: 0431 600-2802, presse(at)geomar.de

Karte des östlichen, tropischen Nordatlantiks mit der Fahrtroute der Meteor (Bild 2) vom 13. -15. September 2015 (schwarze Linie). In Farbe sind die Meeresoberflächentemperaturen vom 14. September 2015 dargestellt, die Pfeile geben die Richtung und Stärke des Windes zu diesem Zeitpunkt an. Die Turbulenzmessungen mit der Mikrostruktursonde (Bild 3) sind durch die hellblauen Rauten gekennzeichnet und die Position der PIRATA Boje (Bild 4) durch den hellblauen Stern markiert.

Karte des östlichen, tropischen Nordatlantiks mit der Fahrtroute der Meteor vom 13. -15. September 2015 (schwarze Linie). In Farbe sind die Meeresoberflächentemperaturen vom 14. September 2015 dargestellt, die Pfeile geben die Richtung und Stärke des Windes zu diesem Zeitpunkt an. Die Turbulenzmessungen mit der Mikrostruktursonde sind durch die hellblauen Rauten gekennzeichnet und die Position der PIRATA Boje durch den hellblauen Stern markiert. Grafik: GEOMAR

Das deutsche Forschungsschiff Meteor im tropischen Atlantik. Foto: Kosmas Hench

Das deutsche Forschungsschiff Meteor im tropischen Atlantik. Foto: Kosmas Hench

Foto der Mikrostruktursonde am Heck der Meteor beim Aussetzen mit der instrumenteneigenen Winde. Durch das schnelle Fieren des orangefarbenen Kevlarkabels können die Turbulenzmessungen nahezu im freien Fall der Sonde durchs Wasser durchgeführt werden. Foto: Marcus Dengler.

Foto der Mikrostruktursonde am Heck der Meteor beim Aussetzen mit der instrumenteneigenen Winde. Durch das schnelle Fieren des orangefarbenen Kevlarkabels können die Turbulenzmessungen nahezu im freien Fall der Sonde durchs Wasser durchgeführt werden. Foto: Marcus Dengler.

Oberflächenelement der PIRATA Boje bei 11.5°N, 23°W. Die PIRATA Bojen bilden die Kernelemente des Beobachtungssystems im tropischen Atlantik und zeichnen mit den Oberflächenelementen atmosphärische Parameter sowie mit den unter Wasser verankerten Instrumenten ozeanische Parameter auf. Damit liefern sie wichtige Daten, um die Austauschprozesse zwischen Ozean und Atmosphäre besser zu verstehen

Oberflächenelement der PIRATA Boje bei 11.5°N, 23°W. Die PIRATA Bojen bilden die Kernelemente des Beobachtungssystems im tropischen Atlantik und zeichnen mit den Oberflächenelementen atmosphärische Parameter sowie mit den unter Wasser verankerten Instrumenten ozeanische Parameter auf. Damit liefern sie wichtige Daten, um die Austauschprozesse zwischen Ozean und Atmosphäre besser zu verstehen. Foto: Michael Schneider.

  • GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel
    Wischhofstr. 1-3
    24148 Kiel
    Tel.: 0431 600-2809
    Fax: 0431 600-132809
    e-mail: presse(at)geomar.de

     

  • Dr. Andreas Villwock
    Tel.: 0431 600-2802
    e-mail: avillwock(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Printprodukte, Internet, Besuchsprogramme

  • Jan Steffen
    Tel.: 0431 600-2811
    e-mail: jsteffen(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Pressemitteilungen, Pressekontakte, Foto, Internetauftritt, Social Media

  • Dr. Gerd Hoffmann-Wieck
    Tel.: 0431 600-2555
    e-mail: ghoffmann-wieck(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Ausstellungen, Exponate, Besucherführungen

  • Dr. Joachim Dengg
    Tel.: 0431 600-4006
    e-mail: jdengg(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Schülerprojekte, Schülerlabor (im Aufbau), Schülerpraktikanten

  • Christoph Kersten
    Tel.: 0431 600-2814
    e-mail: ckersten(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Grafik & Design, Erstellung und Entwicklung von Druckerzeugnissen für das GEOMAR

  • Christiane Loorz
    Tel.: 0431 600-2809
    e-mail: cloorz(at)geomar.de 

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Veranstaltungsorganisation, Assistenz Kommunikation & Medien