Glass sponges (Hexactinellida) are mainly found in the deep sea. The glass sponge Vazella pourtalesi (colloquially "Russian hat") is found in large quantities on the continental shelf off Canada: Photo: Ellen Kenchington, DFO. The Aquatic Symbiosis project will be the first to produce genomes of glass sponges. Its microbial symbionts, on the other hand, are already well researched (Bayer, Busch et al., mSystems 2020).

Glass sponges (Hexactinellida) are mainly found in the deep sea. The glass sponge Vazella pourtalesi (colloquially "Russian hat") is found in large quantities on the continental shelf off Canada: Photo: Ellen Kenchington, DFO. The Aquatic Symbiosis project will be the first to produce genomes of glass sponges. Its microbial symbionts, on the other hand, are already well researched (Bayer, Busch et al., mSystems 2020).

Symbioses in Aquatic Environments

International genome project tries to understand how aquatic species thrive together

23 September 2020/Kiel. Organisms live in symbiosis on land and under water, a very special partnership, where one partner depends on the other. The Aquatic Symbiosis Project, a major international study led by the British Wellcome Sanger Institute, seeks to decipher the genetic codes of 1,000 aquatic species representing 500 symbiotic partnerships. The international consortium, with involvement of the GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, expects that these investigations will provide new insights into the complex and multi-layered symbiotic life forms.

The symbiosis of marine animals (corals, sponges, slugs and many others) with microbes covers a spectrum of relationships ranging from transient to life-long and from mutually beneficial to exploitative. A prominent example is corals and algae, where the relationship is mutually beneficial, with algae receiving a home and corals access to nutrients through photosynthesis. These coral symbioses are the foundation of the hyper-diverse reef systems worldwide. In contrast, parasites are symbionts that exploit their host, which provides them with a home and regular meals, but give nothing back and cause harm. Nearly one third of all described species are parasites, making this type of relationship hugely important.

How exactly such symbiotic relationships work is often not yet known. A large international study will now bring expert knowledge into symbiosis research. The Aquatic Symbiosis Project, a collaboration between the British Wellcome Sanger Institute and the American Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, aims to answer important questions about the ecology and evolution of symbiosis - in which two different species live in very close association - in marine and freshwater ecosystems at a time when biodiversity is being lost at an alarming rate.

To this end, the genetic codes of 1,000 aquatic species representing 500 symbiotic partnerships will be sequenced. A total of four different symbiotic life forms will be studied: coral symbioses, sponge symbioses, phototrophic symbioses, and intracellular eukaryotic symbioses, in which e.g. amoebae are the hosts. The sequencing of the genomes of the different symbiotic life forms is performed at the British Wellcome Sanger Institute in Oxford. After completion, the genomes will be made publicly accessible via an online data coordination platform of the European Bioinformatics Institute (EMBL-EBI), Heidelberg. The Moore Foundation supports aquatic symbiosis research with research funds totaling 140 million dollars.

GEOMAR participates in this project by studying sponge symbioses. "At present, only five sequenced genomes of sponges are publicly available," explains Professor Dr. Ute Hentschel Humeida from GEOMAR. "Within the scope of this project, we want to increase this number tenfold," Hentschel Humeida continues. "We supply the samples for sequencing and then receive the genome information as a result. This will enable us to gain insights into the varied symbiotic life forms of marine sponges," says the biologist. Due to the complexity of the investigations, initial results are not expected for one to two years.

Professor Mark Blaxter, lead researcher of the Aquatic Symbiosis Genomics Project at the Wellcome Sanger Institute, said: "Symbiosis is an important part of how the world works, and it has always fascinated me that organisms that might otherwise be predator and prey have evolved to cooperate to survive. The Aquatic Symbiosis Genomics Project offers a unique opportunity to understand the origins, biology and future prospects of a huge range of symbioses. The visionary funding from the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation and enthusiasm and open collaboration of our partners around the globe promises exciting new insights into this important part of Earth’s biodiversity.

Glass sponges (Hexactinellida) are mainly found in the deep sea. The glass sponge Vazella pourtalesi (colloquially "Russian hat") is found in large quantities on the continental shelf off Canada: Photo: Ellen Kenchington, DFO. The Aquatic Symbiosis project will be the first to produce genomes of glass sponges. Its microbial symbionts, on the other hand, are already well researched (Bayer, Busch et al., mSystems 2020).

Glass sponges (Hexactinellida) are mainly found in the deep sea. The glass sponge Vazella pourtalesi (colloquially "Russian hat") is found in large quantities on the continental shelf off Canada: Photo: Ellen Kenchington, DFO. The Aquatic Symbiosis project will be the first to produce genomes of glass sponges. Its microbial symbionts, on the other hand, are already well researched (Bayer, Busch et al., mSystems 2020).

  • GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
    Wischhofstr. 1-3
    24148 Kiel
    GERMANY
    Phone: +49 431 600-2809
    Fax: +49 431 600-132809
    e-mail: presse(at)geomar.de

  • Dr. Andreas Villwock
    Phone: +49 431 600-2802
    e-mail: avillwock(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    Print, web, visitors

  • Jan Steffen
    Phone: +49 431 600-2811
    e-mail: jsteffen(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    Press releases, press contacts, photo, web, social media

  • Dr. Joachim Dengg
    Phone: +49 431 600-4006
    e-mail: jdengg(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    School cooperations & projects, practicals for pupils

  • Christoph Kersten
    Phone: +49 0431 600-2814
    e-mail: ckersten(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    Graphics & Design, Development and production of print products for GEOMAR

  • Christiane Loorz
    Tel.: +49 431 600-2809
    e-mail: cloorz(at)geomar.de

    Tasks:

    Event Management, Team assistance

Glasschwämme (Hexactinellida) kommen hauptsächlich in der Tiefsee vor. Der Glasschwamm Vazella pourtalesi (umgangssprachlich „Russischer Hut“ wird in großen Mengen auf dem Kontinentalschelf vor Kanada gefunden.: Foto: Ellen Kenchington, DFO.  Im Rahmen des Aquatic Symbiosis Projektes sollen erstmalig Genome von Glasschwämmen erstellt werden. Dessen mikrobielle Symbionten sind hingegen schon gut erforscht (Bayer, Busch et al., mSystems 2020).

Glasschwämme (Hexactinellida) kommen hauptsächlich in der Tiefsee vor. Der Glasschwamm Vazella pourtalesi (umgangssprachlich „Russischer Hut“ wird in großen Mengen auf dem Kontinentalschelf vor Kanada gefunden.: Foto: Ellen Kenchington, DFO.

Miteinander im Wasser leben

Internationales Genom-Projekt versucht zu verstehen, wie aquatische Arten in Symbiose zusammenleben

23.09.2020/Kiel. Nicht nur an Land auch unter Wasser gibt es Organismen, die in Symbiose, einer sehr speziellen Partnerschaft leben, wo der eine auf den anderen angewiesen ist. In einer großen internationalen Studie, dem Aquatic Symbiosis Project, unter Leitung des britischen Wellcome Sanger Institute sollen nun die genetischen Codes von 1.000 aquatischen Arten, die 500 symbiotische Partnerschaften repräsentieren, entschlüsselt werden. Das internationale Konsortium, an dem auch das GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel beteiligt ist, verspricht sich von den Untersuchungen neue Erkenntnisse zu den komplexen und vielschichtigen symbiontischen Lebensformen.

Die Symbiose von Meerestieren (Korallen, Schwämme, Nacktschnecken und viele andere) mit Mikroben deckt ein Spektrum von Beziehungen ab, die von vorübergehend bis lebenslang und von gegenseitig vorteilhaft bis ausbeuterisch reichen. Ein prominentes Beispiel dafür sind Korallen und Algen, bei denen die Beziehung gegenseitig vorteilhaft ist, wobei die Algen ein Zuhause erhalten und die Korallen durch Photosynthese Zugang zu Nährstoffen erhalten. Diese Korallen-Kooperationen sind die Grundlagen der hyper-diversen Riffsysteme weltweit. Hingegen sind Parasiten Symbionten, die ihren Wirt ausbeuten, der ihnen ein Zuhause und regelmäßige Mahlzeiten bietet, die ihrerseits aber nichts zurückgeben und Schaden anrichten. Fast ein Drittel aller beschriebenen komplexen Arten sind Parasiten, was diese Art der Beziehung enorm wichtig macht.

Wie genau solche symbiotischen Beziehungen funktionieren, ist häufig aber noch nicht bekannt. Eine große internationale Studie soll dies nun klären. Im Rahmen des Aquatic Symbiosis Project, einer Kooperation zwischen dem britischen Wellcome Sanger Institute und der amerikanischen Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, sollen wichtige Fragen über die Ökologie und Evolution der Symbiose - bei der zwei verschiedene Arten in sehr enger Verbindung leben - in Meeres- und Süßwasser-Ökosystemen beantwortet werden und das zu einer Zeit, in der die biologische Vielfalt in alarmierendem Maße verloren geht.

Dazu sollen die genetischen Codes von 1.000 aquatischen Arten, die 500 symbiotische Partnerschaften repräsentieren, entschlüsselt werden. Es werden insgesamt vier unterschiedliche symbiontische Lebensformen untersucht: Korallensymbiosen, Schwamm-Symbiosen, phototrophen Symbiosen (bei Nacktschnecken, Korallen, Schwämmen und andere Organismen) und intrazelluläre eukaryotische Symbiosen, bei denen z.B. Amöben die Wirte sind. Die Sequenzierung der Genome der verschiedenen symbiontischen Lebensformen werden am britischen Wellcome Sanger Institute in Oxford durchgeführt. Nach Abschluss werden die Genome über eine Online-Datenkoordinierungsplattform des Europäischen Bioinformatik-Instituts (EMBL-EBI), Heidelberg öffentlich zugänglich gemacht. Die Moore Foundation unterstützt die aquatische Symbioseforschung mit Forschungsmitteln von insgesamt 140 Millionen Dollar.

Das GEOMAR beteiligt sich an diesem Projekt mit der Untersuchung von Schwammsymbiosen. „Gegenwärtig gibt es nur fünf sequenzierte Genome von Schwämmen“, erläutert Professorin Dr. Ute Hentschel Humeida vom GEOMAR. „Im Rahmen dieses Projektes wollen wir diese Zahl verzehnfachen“, so Hentschel Humeida weiter. „Wir liefern die Proben für die Sequenzierung und erhalten dann die Genominformation als Ergebnis. Damit wird es uns möglich sein, viele neue Einblicke in die symbiontischen Lebensformen von marinen Schwämmen zu gewinnen“, so die Biologin. Aufgrund der Komplexität der Untersuchungen, ist mit ersten Ergebnissen erst in ein bis zwei Jahren zu rechnen.

Professor Mark Blaxter, leitender Forscher des Aquatic Symbiosis Genomics Project vom Wellcome Sanger-Institute sagte: „Die Symbiose ist ein wichtiger Teil der Funktionsweise der Welt, und es hat mich schon immer fasziniert, dass Organismen, die sonst vielleicht Raubtiere und Beutetiere wären, sich so entwickelt haben, dass sie zusammenarbeiten, um zu überleben. Das Aquatic Symbiosis Genomics Project bietet uns eine einzigartige Gelegenheit, die Ursprünge, die Biologie und die Zukunftsaussichten einer großen Bandbreite von Symbiosen zu verstehen. Die visionäre Finanzierung durch die Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation und die Zusammenarbeit unserer Partner auf der ganzen Welt versprechen aufregende neue Erkenntnisse über diesen wichtigen Teil der biologischen Vielfalt auf unserem Planeten“.

Glasschwämme (Hexactinellida) kommen hauptsächlich in der Tiefsee vor. Der Glasschwamm Vazella pourtalesi (umgangssprachlich „Russischer Hut“ wird in großen Mengen auf dem Kontinentalschelf vor Kanada gefunden.: Foto: Ellen Kenchington, DFO.  Im Rahmen des Aquatic Symbiosis Projektes sollen erstmalig Genome von Glasschwämmen erstellt werden. Dessen mikrobielle Symbionten sind hingegen schon gut erforscht (Bayer, Busch et al., mSystems 2020).

Glasschwämme (Hexactinellida) kommen hauptsächlich in der Tiefsee vor. Der Glasschwamm Vazella pourtalesi (umgangssprachlich „Russischer Hut“ wird in großen Mengen auf dem Kontinentalschelf vor Kanada gefunden.: Foto: Ellen Kenchington, DFO.

  • GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel
    Wischhofstr. 1-3
    24148 Kiel
    Tel.: 0431 600-2809
    Fax: 0431 600-132809
    e-mail: presse(at)geomar.de

     

  • Dr. Andreas Villwock
    Tel.: 0431 600-2802
    e-mail: avillwock(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Printprodukte, Internet, Besuchsprogramme

  • Jan Steffen
    Tel.: 0431 600-2811
    e-mail: jsteffen(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Pressemitteilungen, Pressekontakte, Foto, Internetauftritt, Social Media

  • Dr. Gerd Hoffmann-Wieck
    Tel.: 0431 600-2555
    e-mail: ghoffmann-wieck(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Ausstellungen, Exponate, Besucherführungen

  • Dr. Joachim Dengg
    Tel.: 0431 600-4006
    e-mail: jdengg(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Schülerprojekte, Schülerlabor (im Aufbau), Schülerpraktikanten

  • Christoph Kersten
    Tel.: 0431 600-2814
    e-mail: ckersten(at)geomar.de

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Grafik & Design, Erstellung und Entwicklung von Druckerzeugnissen für das GEOMAR

  • Christiane Loorz
    Tel.: 0431 600-2809
    e-mail: cloorz(at)geomar.de 

    Aufgabenbereiche:

    Veranstaltungsorganisation, Assistenz Kommunikation & Medien