Working group DeepSea Monitoring

...a multidisciplinary group

Our group consists of natural scientists (from the fields of geology, geochemistry, geophysics, oceanography, environmental sciences), software engineers and data scientists (from computer science and statistics, people who use e.g. signal processing, photogrammetry or machine learning to extract knowledge from data) and technicians (in geochemical laboratory analysis, electronics and precision engineering) and thus covers a wide field with regard to technology development, generation and evaluation of data to answer our scientific questions.

Please also visit our site Staff and our Studentjobs & BA/MA-thesis topics in underwater computer vision and acoustics.

Our topics

The working group DeepSea Monitoring (DSM) addresses the following overarching issues:

in scientific research

  • Detection, quantification and monitoring of gas flows (methane) from the sea floor into the water column and further into the atmosphere
  • Quantitative assessment of resources on the seabed, e.g. by means of detailed habitat mapping
  • Identification and annotation of organisms on the seabed
  • Environmental monitoring before, during and after the delaboration of munitions in the sea

in application-oriented development research

  • The (further) development of modular sensor systems and platforms, integration of robotic applications and artificial intelligence
  • Development of optimal survey and sampling strategies
  • Visual and computer-supported data exploration, in particular by artificial intelligence methods such as machine learning (by means of pattern recognition, data mining, visualisation and unsupervised learning processes)
  • Development and experimentation with methods for refractive underwater camera calibration (see Oceanic Machine Vision Group)

Our methods

We use hydroacoustic (singlebeam and multibeam systems, sub-bottom profilers), electromagnetic (magnetometers) and optical (cameras, fluorometers, lasers) technologies in conjunction with post-processing and calibration techniques (filtering and statistical methods, photogrammetry, 4D reconstruction), and combine these methods with geochemical analyses of the sea surface, the water column (such as ICP-OES, GC-MS laboratory analyses) and the atmosphere (Picarro Analyzer).

At the same time, we are involved in the development of data science workflows for the storage and analysis (including visual exploration) of large amounts of multi-parameter data. Methods of pattern recognition and machine learning are applied to large image data sets, for example, with the help of a high-performance compute-cluster infrastructure.

We develop modular sensor systems like the BubbleBox, which uses automated video analysis to count and measure bubble sizes, and platforms like GasQuant-II which was designed to quantify gas flows. We use the GEOMAR large-scale equipment ROV and AUV for data generation and further develop adaptive and iterative navigation, e.g. for AUVs

We develop our own Software that you might want to explore.

Our projects

At present we have different working topics and are partners in several international Projects. Completed research projects in which the DeepSea Monitoring group was involved can be found here.

Our publications

Our publication list can be found here.

Arbeitsgruppe DeepSea Monitoring

..eine multidisziplinäre Gruppe

Unsere AG setzt sich aus Naturwissenschaftlern (aus den Bereichen Geologie, Geochemie, Geophysik, Ozeanographie, Umweltwissenschaften), Software-Ingenieuren und Datenwissenschaftlern (aus der Informatik und Statistik, Personen, die z.B. Signalverarbeitung, Photogrammetrie oder maschinelles Lernen zur Extraktion von Wissen aus Daten nutzen) und Technikern (in der geochemischen Laboranalytik, Elektronik und Feinmechanik) zusammen und deckt dadurch ein weites Feld hinsichtlich der Technologieentwicklung, der Generierung und Auswertung von Daten zur Beantwortung unserer wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen ab.

Besuchen Sie auch unsere Mitarbeiterseite und unsere Studentenjobs & BA/MA-Arbeitsthemen im Bereich Unterwasser-Computervision und Akustik.

Unsere Themen

Die AG DeepSea Monitoring (DSM) behandelt folgende übergeordnete Themen:

in der naturwissenschaftlichen Forschung

  • Detektion, Quantifizierung und Monitoring von Gasflüssen (Methan) vom Meeresboden in die Wassersäule und weiter in die Atmosphäre
  • Quantitative Abschätzung von Ressourcen am Meeresboden, z.B. mittels detaillierter Habitatkartierung
  • Identifizierung und Klassifizierung von Organismen am Meeresboden
  • Umweltmonitoring vor, während und nach der Delaboration von Munition im Meer

in der anwendungsorientierten Entwicklungsforschung

  • Die (Weiter-) Entwicklung modularer Sensorsysteme und -plattformen, Integration robotischer Anwendungen und künstlicher Intelligenz
  • Entwicklung optimaler Survey- und Samplingstrategien
  • Visuelle und computergestützte Datenexploration, insbesondere auch durch Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz wie das maschinelle Lernen (mittels Mustererkennung, Data-Mining, Visualisierung und unüberwachten Lernverfahren)
  • Entwicklung und Experimentieren mit Methoden zur refraktiven Unterwasser-Kamerakalibrierung (siehe Oceanic Machine Vision Group)

Unsere Methoden

Wir verwenden hydroakustische (Singlebeam- und Multibeam-Systeme, Sub-bottom-Profiler), elektromagnetische (Magnetometer) und optische (Kameras, Fluorometer, Laser) Technologien in Verbindung mit Nachbearbeitungs- und Kalibrierungstechniken (Filter- und Statistikmethoden, Photogrammetrie, 4D-Rekonstruktion), und kombinieren diese Methoden mit geochemischen Analysen der Meeresoberfläche, der Wassersäule (wie ICP-OES-, GC-MS-Laboranalysen) und der Atmosphäre (Picarro Analyzer).

Gleichzeitig sind wir an der Entwicklung von datenwissenschaftlichen Arbeitsabläufen für die Speicherung und Auswertung (auch visuelle Exploration) großer Mengen von Multi-Parameter-Daten beteiligt. Methoden der Mustererkennung und des maschinellen Lernens werden beispielsweise mit Hilfe einer hochleistungsfähigen Compute-Cluster-Infrastruktur auf große Bilddatensätze angewendet.

Wir entwickeln modulare Sensorsysteme wie die BubbleBox, die automatisierte Videoanalysen zur Zählung und Messung der Blasengrößen verwendet, und Plattformen wie die GasQuant-II, die zur Quantifizierung von Gasflüssen konzipiert wurde. Wir nutzen die GEOMAR Großgeräte ROV und AUV zur Datengenerierung und entwickeln z.B. bei AUVs die adaptive and iterative Navigation weiter.

Wir entwickeln unsere eigene Software, die Sie vielleicht ausprobieren möchten.

Unsere Projekte

Gegenwärtig haben wir verschiedene Arbeitsthemen und sind Partner in mehreren internationalen Projekten. Abgeschlossene Forschungsprojekte, an denen die DeepSea Monitoring-Gruppe beteiligt war, finden Sie hier .

Unsere Publikationen

Unsere Publikationsliste finden Sie hier.