Ocean Dynamics

The dynamics of ocean circulation is of central importance for natural and human-induced changes to global climate as well as to regional marine ecology. Ocean currents are highly variable as a combined result of atmospheric forcing and internal ocean instability processes; in many areas they are dominated by “mesoscale”? eddy motions with dimensions of 50 km or less. 

Goals

The main goal of our research is to facilitate projections of the future evolution of regional ocean properties in response to changing climate conditions: by understanding the dynamical causes and mechanisms of ocean transport variability on inter-annual to multi-decadal time scales; and by identifying the critical processes that need to be captured in global climate models.

Methodology

As a main tool of research we conduct numerical “experiments”: a hierarchy of regional- to global-scale models of ocean circulation, with high spatial resolution to capture mesoscale ocean currents and eddies, is used to simulate observed ocean variability during the last ~50 years, and to investigate the mechanisms of the oceanic response to atmospheric forcing.

Studies are also carried out, sometimes using simplified models, to understand fundamental dynamical processes operating in the ocean and the atmosphere.

Topics

A list of current research projects can be found on the page Projects. Current studies cover mostly these regions:

  • North Atlantic
  • Southern Ocean
  • Indian Ocean

Ozeandynamik

Die Dynamik der Ozeanzirkulation ist von zentraler Bedeutung für natürliche und anthropogen? induzierte Änderungen im globalen Klimasystem, wie auch in der regionalen marinen Ökologie. Ozeanströmungen variieren stark aufgrund von atmosphärischem Antriebsänderungen und internen ozeanischen Instabilitätsprozessen. In vielen Regionen dominieren "mesoskalige"? Wirbel mit Dimensionen von 50 km und darunter.

Ziele

Das Hauptziel unserer Forschung ist, regionale Zustandsänderungen im Ozean als Folge von sich ändernder Klimabedingungen abzuschätzen: zum einen durch Verständnis der dynamischen Gründe und Mechanismen der ozeanischen Transportvariabilität auf zwischenjährlichen bis dekadischen Zeitskalen, zum anderen durch Identifizierung kritischer Prozesse, die in gekoppelten Klimamodellen aufgelöst werden müssen.

Methodik

Als Hauptwerkzeug unserer Forschung führen wir numerische "Experimente" durch: eine Hierarchie von regionalen bis globalen Ozeanmodellen? mit hoher räumlicher Auflösung zur Erfassung der kleinräumigen Ozeanströmungen und mesoskaligen Wirbeln. Mit diesen Modellen wird die beobachtete ozeanische Variabilität der vergangenen ~50 Jahre simuliert, sowie die Mechanismen untersucht, mit denen der Ozean auf Änderungen im atmosphärischen Antrieb reagiert.

Andere Studien verwenden vereinfachte Modelle, mit denen grundsätzliche dynamische Prozesse in Ozean und Atmosphäre verstanden werden sollen.

Themen

Eine Liste der aktuell geförderten Forschungsprojekte kann über die Seite Forschungs-Projekte abgerufen werden. Thematisch laufen Arbeiten über folgende Regionen:

  • North Atlantic
  • Southern Ocean
  • Indian Ocean