Do you know where you are heading? What are your professional goals? And are you still on the right track to get there?

Since 2020, the Postdoc Academic Career Support (PACT) Center has been the central point of contact for all postdoctoral scientists in temporary employment at GEOMAR. The goal of PACT is to support you in your individual career planning and development and to show perspectives for professional careers after the doctorate, both for an academic career and for career opportunities outside academia.

It is not only in these times that situations may arise in which another opinion can help. For this purpose GEOMAR offers the consulting service Corrente. This service can be used anonymously and free of charge.

We also welcome your own ideas and suggestions for events and topics that we can implement in PACT. Feel free to contact us by e-mail. Of course, all requests will be treated confidentially.

We look forward to getting to know you!

Your PACT Team

Events

      Jun 3, 2022, 11 - 12:30 h, GEOMAR Westshore, Room DW20 - R.075

  • Postdoc Lunch: Networking (with lunch, in person)

     Jun 14, 2022, 12:30 - 14 h, GEOMAR east bank

      Jun 21, 2022: Heisenberg-Programm (in German)

  • Scientific Retreat | Save the date

      Sept 22, 2022, Kiel

Courses

      Jun 28 - 29, 2022, registration at pact-event(at)geomar.de

      Jun 30 - Jul 1, 2022, registration at pact-event(at)geomar.de

      Sept 6 - 7 + Oct 10, 2022, registration at pact-event(at)geomar.de

 

Past Events

  • April 28, 2022, 9 - 16 h

    Virtual Career Day "Transition Possible - Career Perspectives for Postdocs"

    At the first joint career day "Transition Possible - Career Perspectives for Postdocs" of the postdoc career centers of the Helmholtz institutes DESY, DZNE, GEOMAR, HZDR, IPP and KIT, 216 participants came together to inform themselves about career paths outside academia.

    After an inspiring talk by Tina Persson, representatives from BASF, BOSCH, Ginkgo Analytics, NaWik and the German Scholars Organization discussed possible career paths for postdocs outside of science in a panel discussion. Afterwards, the participants had the opportunity to talk to representatives of individual companies, science management and science communication, as well as former postdocs employed there, and to gain insights into their working lives and companies. In the afternoon, eight workshops were offered, in which the participants could inform themselves in detail about various topics of career planning, job search and the application process.

    The career day was characterized by an atmosphere of optimism, which gave the participating postdocs the feeling of being sought after on the job market and highlighted the special skills they had acquired during their scientific careers. The focus was also on the motivation to actively plan and pursue career paths outside of academia.

  • Postdoc Event (joint event with CAU Kiel)

    At regular postdoc events, young scientists in leading positions present their career paths, working methods and research areas.

    The event, which is jointly organized by PACT and the CAU Postdoc Center, takes place on the first Friday of every month and offers postdoctoral researchers a forum for networking and professional exchange. The event is also open to Master students, doctoral candidates and other interested researchers.

    Past Events:

    March 4, 2022 - Olivia Roth, CAU

    February 4, 2022 - David Needham, GEOMAR

    December 3, 2021 - Meike Stumpp, CAU

    November 5, 2021 - Felix Elling, CAU

    September 3, 2021 - Nadine Mengis, GEOMAR

    June 4, 2021 -  Morelia Urlaub, GEOMAR

    May 7, 2021 - Julia Gottschalk,  CAU

    March 5, 2021 - Aaron Micaleff, GEOMAR/Malta

    February 5, 2021 - Christian Baatz, CAU

Newsletter

comPACT_04/22

Weißt Du, wohin Du willst? Was sind Deine beruflichen Ziele? Und bist Du noch auf dem richtigen Weg dorthin?

Seit 2020 bildet das des Postdoc Academic Career Support (PACT) Center die zentrale Anlaufstelle für alle promovierten Wissenschaftler mit befristeten Verträgen am GEOMAR. Ziel von PACT ist es, Sie in Ihrer individuellen Karriereplanung und -entwicklung zu unterstützen und Perspektiven für die berufliche Laufbahn nach der Promotion aufzuzeigen, sowohl für eine akademische Karriere als auch für Karrieremöglichkeiten außerhalb der Wissenschaft.

Nicht nur in diesen Zeiten kann es zu Situationen kommen, in denen eine andere Meinung weiterhelfen kann. Hierfür bietet GEOMAR den Beratungsservice Corrente an. Dieser kann anonym und kostenlos genutzt werden.

Wir freuen uns auch über eigene Ideen und Vorschläge für Veranstaltungen und Themen, die wir in PACT umsetzen können. Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne per E-Mail. Selbstverständlich werden alle Anliegen vertraulich behandelt.

Wir freuen uns darauf Sie kennenzulernen!

Ihr PACT Team

Events

      3. Juni 2022, 11 - 12:30 Uhr, GEOMAR Westufer, Raum DW20 - R.075

  • Postdoc Lunch: Networking (mit Mittagessen, in Person)

     14. Juni 2022, 12:30 - 14 Uhr, GEOMAR Ostufer

      21. Juni 2022: Heisenberg-Programm (auf Deutsch)

  • Scientific Retreat | Save the date

      22. September 2022, Kiel

Kurse

      28. - 29. Juni 2022, Anmeldung unter pact-event(at)geomar.de

      30. Juni - 1. Juli 2022, Anmeldung unter pact-event(at)geomar.de

      6. - 7. September + 10. Oktober 2022, Anmeldung unter pact-event(at)geomar.de

 

Past Events

  • 28. April 2022, 9 - 16 Uhr

    Virtual Career Day "Transition Possible - Career Perspectives for Postdocs"

    Beim ersten gemeinsamen Karrieretag "Transition Possible - Career Perspectives for Postdocs" der Postdoc Karrierezentren der Helmholtz-Institute DESY, DZNE, GEOMAR, HZDR, IPP und KIT kamen 216 Teilnehmer:innen zusammen, um sich über Karrierewege außerhalb der Wissenschaft zu informieren und auszutauschen.

    Nach einem inspirierenden Vortrag von Tina Persson, diskutierten Vertreter von BASF, BOSCH, Ginkgo Analytics, NaWik und der German Scholars Organization im Rahmen einer Podiumsdiskussion mögliche Karrierewege für Postdocs außerhalb der Wissenschaft. Anschließend bekamen die Teilnehmenden die Möglichkeit, sich mit Vertretern von einzelnen Unternehmen, aus dem Wissenschaftsmanagement und der Wissenschaftskommunikation sowie ehemaligen, dort angestellten Postdocs auszutauschen und Einblicke in deren Arbeitsleben und Unternehmen zu erhalten. Am Nachmittag wurden acht Workshops angeboten, in denen sich die Teilnehmenden eingehend über verschiedene Themen der Karriereplanung, der Stellensuche und des Bewerbungsprozesses informieren konnten.

    Der Karrieretag war von einer Aufbruchstimmung geprägt, die den teilnehmenden Postdocs das Gefühl gab, auf dem Arbeitsmarkt gesucht zu sein, und die besonderen Fähigkeiten hervorhob, die sie während ihrer wissenschaftlichen Laufbahn erworben haben. Im Fokus stand zudem die Motivation auch Karrierewege außerhalb der Wissenschaft aktiv zu planen und zu verfolgen.

  • Postdoc Event (zusammen mit der CAU Kiel)

    Im Rahmen regelmäßiger Postdoc Events stellen Nachwuchswissenschaftler:innen in führenden Positionen ihren beruflichen Werdegang, ihre Arbeitsmethoden und Forschungsgebiete vor.

    Die Veranstaltung, die gemeinsam von PACT und dem Postdoc Zentrum der CAU Kiel organisiert wird, findet jeden ersten Freitag im Monat statt und bietet promovierten Wissenschaftler:innen ein Forum zur Vernetzung und zum fachlichen Austausch. Die Veranstaltung steht auch Masterstudenten, Doktoranden und anderen interessierten Forschern offen.

    Bisherige Veranstaltungen:

    4. März 2022 - Olivia Roth, CAU

    4. Februar 2022 - David Needham, GEOMAR

    3. Dezember 2021 - Meike Stumpp, CAU

    5. November 2021 - Felix Elling, CAU

    3. September 2021 - Nadine Mengis, GEOMAR

    4. Juni 2021 -  Morelia Urlaub, GEOMAR

    7. Mai 2021 - Julia Gottschalk,  CAU

    5. März 2021 - Aaron Micaleff, GEOMAR/Malta

    5. Februar 2021 - Christian Baatz, CAU

Newsletter

comPACT_04/22