“Deutscher Meerespreis” (German Ocean Award)

Since 2009, the “Deutscher Meerespreis” (German Ocean Award) has honoured individuals who are committed to protecting and preserving the ocean. The award integrates the Elisabeth-Mann-Borgese-Meerespreis, which was awarded by the state government of Schleswig-Holstein with a similar objective from 2006 to 2009.

From 2009 to 2018, the German Ocean Award included a prize money of 10,000 euros, donated by Deutsche Bank. Since 2016, the prize has also been under the patronage of the Minister President of Schleswig-Holstein.

From 2024, in cooperation with the Prof. Dr Werner Petersen Foundation, well-known personalities and scientists will be honoured with the prize, now known as the "German Ocean Award of the Prof. Dr Werner Petersen Foundation”, on an annual basis. The patronage of Minister President Daniel Günther is continued.

The first recipient of the German Ocean Award of the Prof. Dr. Werner Petersen Foundation is the professional sailor Boris Herrmann, who is honoured for his engagement as an ambassador for the ocean and for communicating marine research topics to the public.


  • GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
    Wischhofstr. 1-3
    D-24148 Kiel
    Tel.: +49-431 600-0
    Fax: +49-431 600-2805
    E-mail: info(at)geomar.de