Directorate

Board of Directors

Professor Dr. Katja Matthes
Director 
GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
Wischhofstraße 1-3, Building No. 4, Room 111 
24148 Kiel, Germany 
Phone: +49 431 600 2800
director(at)geomar.de  

Director's Office
Antonia Rißmann
Phone: +49 431 600 2801
office-director(at)geomar.de

Frank Spiekermann
Administrative Director
GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Wischhofstraße 1-3, Building No. 4, Room 119
24148 Kiel, Germany
Phone: +49 431 600 2600
fspiekermann(at)geomar.de

Personal Assistant to the Administrative Director
Dr. Friederike von Cossel
Phone: +49 431 600 2602
fcossel(at)geomar.de

Administrative Director's Office
Margit Söder
Phone: +49 431 600 2600
Fax: +49 431 600 2605
msoeder(at)geomar.de 

Heads of Research Divisions

Research Division 1: Ocean Circulation and Climate Dynamics:
Prof. Dr. Martin Frank,
Phone: +49 431 600-2218, mfrank(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Peter Brandt, Phone: +49 431 600-4105, pbrandt(at)geomar.de

Research Division 2: Marine Biogeochemistry:
Prof. Dr. Klaus Wallmann, Phone: +49 431 600 2287, kwallmann(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Arne Körtzinger, Phone: +49 431 600 4200, akoertzinger(at)geomar.de

Research Division 3: Marine Ecology:
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Reusch, Phone: +49 431 600 4550, treusch(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Ute Hentschel Humeida, Phone: +49 431 600 4480, uhentschel(at)geomar.de

Research Division 4: Dynamics of the Ocean Floor:
Prof. Dr. Colin Devey, Phone: +49 431 600 2257, cdevey(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Christian Berndt, Phone: +49 431 600 2273, cberndt(at)geomar.de

Directorate

Science Coordination
Dr. Jan Helmke
Phone: +49 431 600 2818
jhelmke(at)geomar.de

Communication and Media
Dr. Andreas Villwock
Phone: +49 431 600 2802
avillwock(at)geomar.de

Chief Information Officer (CIO)
Sören Lorenz
Phone: +49 431 600 2270
slorenz(at)geomar.de

Industry Cooperation and Technology Transfer
Dr. Warner Brückmann
Phone: +49 431 600 2819
wbrueckmann(at)geomar.de

Staff Department and Advisors

Staff Department Health, Safety and Environment (HSE)
Christoph Sevenich
Phone +49 431 600 2828
csevenich(at)geomar.de

Export Control and Customs
Daniela Schmitt
Phone +49 431 600 1682
dschmitt(at)geomar.de

Internal Audit and Data Protection
Stefan Simon
Phone +49 431 600 2549
ssimon(at)geomar.de

Legal Affairs
Karen Böhle
Phone: +49-431 600-2815
kboehle(at)geomar.de

Advisor for IT-Safety
Dr. Rüdiger Kunze
Phone: +49-431 600 2297
rkunze(at)geomar.de 

Advisor for Prevention of Corruption
Stefan Simon
Phone +49 431 600 2549
ssimon(at)geomar.de

  • The mission of GEOMAR is:

    To investigate the physical, chemical, biological, and geological processes in the ocean and their interaction with the seafloor and the atmosphere.

  • The GEOMAR | Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel is member of the Helmholtz Association, the Deutsche Allianz Meeresforschung and the German Marine Research Konsortium (KDM).

    On the international level, the institute cooperates with many institutions in the field of marine sciences. It is a member of the "Partnership for Observation of the Global Oceans" (POGO).

  • East shore campus

    GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
    Wischhofstr. 1-3
    D-24148 Kiel
    Germany
    Tel.: +49-431 600-0
    Fax: +49-431 600-2805
    E-mail: info(at)geomar.de
    www.geomar.de

    West shore campus

    GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel 
    Düsternbrooker Weg 20
    D-24105 Kiel
    Germany