Directorate

Board of Directors

Professor Dr. Katja Matthes
Director 
GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
Wischhofstraße 1-3, Building No. 4, Room 111 
24148 Kiel, Germany 
Phone: +49 431 600 2800
director(at)geomar.de  

Director's Office
Antonia Rißmann
Phone: +49 431 600 2801
office-director(at)geomar.de

Frank Spiekermann
Administrative Director
GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel

Wischhofstraße 1-3, Building No. 4, Room 119
24148 Kiel, Germany
Phone: +49 431 600 2600
verwaltungsdirektor(at)geomar.de

Personal Assistant to the Administrative Director
Frauke Horstmann
Phone: +49 431 600 2602
fhorstmann(at)geomar.de

Administrative Director's Office
Ute Ehlers
Phone: +49 431 600 2601
uehlers(at)geomar.de

Heads of Research Divisions

Research Division 1: Ocean Circulation and Climate Dynamics:
Prof. Dr. Martin Frank,
Phone: +49 431 600-2218, mfrank(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Peter Brandt, Phone: +49 431 600-4105, pbrandt(at)geomar.de

Research Division 2: Marine Biogeochemistry:
Prof. Dr. Anja Engel, Phone: +49 431 600 1510, aengel(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Arne Körtzinger, Phone: +49 431 600 2287, kwallmann(at)geomar.de

Research Division 3: Marine Ecology:
Prof. Dr. Thorsten Reusch, Phone: +49 431 600 4550, treusch(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Ute Hentschel Humeida, Phone: +49 431 600 4480, uhentschel(at)geomar.de

Research Division 4: Dynamics of the Ocean Floor:
Prof. Dr. Heidrun Kopp, Phone: +49 431 600 2334, hkopp(at)geomar.de
Deputy: Prof. Dr. Colin Devey, Phone: +49 431 600 2257, cdevey(at)geomar.de

Directorate

Science Coordination
Dr. Jan Helmke
Phone: +49 431 600 2818
jhelmke(at)geomar.de

Communication and Media

Maike Nicolai (Media)
Phone: +49 431 600 2807
mnicolai(at)geomar.de

Dr. Andreas Villwock (Public relations)
Phone: +49 431 600 2802
avillwock(at)geomar.de

Chief Information Officer (CIO)
Sören Lorenz
Phone: +49 431 600 2270
slorenz(at)geomar.de

Industry Cooperation and Technology Transfer
Dr. Warner Brückmann
Phone: +49 431 600 2819
wbrueckmann(at)geomar.de

Staff Department and Advisors

Staff Department Health, Safety and Environment (HSE)
Christoph Sevenich
Phone +49 431 600 2828
csevenich(at)geomar.de

Export Control and Customs
Daniela Schmitt
Phone +49 431 600 1682
dschmitt(at)geomar.de

Internal Audit and Data Protection
Stefan Simon
Phone +49 431 600 2549
ssimon(at)geomar.de

Legal Affairs
Karen Böhle
Phone: +49-431 600-2815
kboehle(at)geomar.de

Advisor for IT-Safety
Dr. Rüdiger Kunze
Phone: +49-431 600 2297
rkunze(at)geomar.de 

Advisor for Prevention of Corruption
Stefan Simon
Phone +49 431 600 2549
ssimon(at)geomar.de

  • East shore campus

    GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel
    Wischhofstr. 1-3
    D-24148 Kiel
    Germany
    Tel.: +49-431 600-0
    Fax: +49-431 600-2805
    E-mail: info(at)geomar.de
    www.geomar.de

    West shore campus

    GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel 
    Düsternbrooker Weg 20
    D-24105 Kiel
    Germany